WYLD Network
WYLD Card Policy
Error processing SSI file
will.state.wy.us > wyld > members > documents > WYLD card policy
WYLD CARD POLICY
Approved by the WYLD Network Governing Board and Regional Council, 2008

Libraries within the WYLD System, which is largely supported by legislative appropriations, are required to participate in statewide borrowing and lending to patrons holding WYLD library cards. The purpose of this policy is to insure uniform borrowing standards that will enable Wyoming patrons to use the facilities of any cooperating library in Wyoming. Individual libraries may approve more lenient policies.

Borrowing from another WYLD library:

  1. Wyoming patrons are allowed to borrow from any WYLD library, regardless of residence, if they meet the following criteria:
    1. Are at least 18 years old (or younger, if approved by the lending library).
    2. Have a patron record in WYLD, and a Wyoming library card. Only when the patron has a record in WYLD and is from a library that does not issue library cards is a photo ID sufficient.
  2. Patron records in WYLD are owned jointly by all WYLD member libraries, with the patron’s home library recognized as having the primary responsibility and right to manage the record in accordance with their local policy. Because patrons must use a library card and PIN for entering interlibrary loan transactions and for authenticating to a library’s databases, it is assumed that a patron may have multiple library cards to match multiple affiliations – e.g. a public library card from his or her home county, a college library card if taking college classes, a school library card if in high school, a special library card.
  3. When taking ownership (overlaying) of another library’s patron record, it is critical that both the patron and the library profile information be updated to reflect the new library’s policies. The profile information not used by the new library from the previous library’s profile must be deleted. Not attending to these changes will result in incorrect and misleading statistical information.
    1. BASIC Tab: Be sure to change the Library and Profile name to your library. Please delete any information in the Alt-ID and the Group-ID that your library does not use.
    2. DEMOGRAPHICS Tab: UserCat1-5 should have only information that your library uses. Please delete any information that your library does not use.
  4. Public WYLD libraries are required to support each other to the utmost of their ability by not issuing new cards and by refusing service to patrons who are delinquent with other libraries because of fines, fees, overdue or damaged materials. As part of the service provided to enrolled students, academic, and school libraries issue cards to students in good standing and therefore are exempt from this requirement.
  5. WYLD libraries collect fines or fees from non-resident patrons using the following guidelines:
    1. Libraries may collect fines from a non-resident patron if the amount is $5.00 or less. They will not be responsible for forwarding the money to the patron’s home library
    2. If a non-resident patron has fines or fees over $5.00 the library may, at its discretion, accept payment and forward it to the library where the fines are owed. If payment is accepted for lost or damaged materials, a print or other record of the titles and barcodes of the items being paid for must be enclosed with payment.

      It is recommended that this be done especially when the patron is willing to make out a check payable to the library where the fines are owed which can then be mailed directly. The alternative would be to notify the non-resident patron of the charges and give the patron contact information for the library charging the fines or fees.

  6. Libraries agree to lend at least two books to a patron from any other WYLD library. Actual lending limits on numbers and types of materials will vary from library to library
  7. Libraries must inform patrons of this WYLD Card Policy and of the minimum standards they can expect to encounter statewide. They must also be informed of applicable individual library policies, which may vary from library to library.
  8. WYLD libraries must update the address and phone number of a non-resident patron using their library. When this information is updated, a note should be put in the note field informing the home library of this update so it can be verified in accordance with local policies. The note should include the date, staff initials and library where the update was done. For example: “Address/phone updated, 2/6/06 vh CARB.” As a courtesy, an email should be sent to the home library informing staff of the change.
  9. Libraries must inform the borrower that he/she is responsible for returning materials to a WYLD library and that overdue notices and fines will be generated from the lending library.
  10. Returned materials will be discharged and returned as soon as possible to the lending library at no cost to the patron, ensuring a true state-wide borrowing policy.
  11. The WYLD office will be asked to help keep statistics on statewide borrowing to be used in reevaluating these policies.
  12. Public Libraries will attempt to recover overdue materials in accordance with their own policies and Wyoming Statues 18-7-105(c) which states “Holders of library cards are responsible for all library materials borrowed on such cards. Whenever library materials are lost, destroyed, or taken from the library and not returned the library board may institute proceedings in any court of competent jurisdiction to recover the materials or the value thereof.” Academic, school, and special libraries will follow their own policies for recovering materials.
  13. Libraries may request reimbursement from the Wyoming State Library for unrecoverable materials in excess of $25.00 that were checked out by a non-resident patron.
  14. The University of Wyoming (UW) supports the idea of statewide borrowing privileges. However, the WYLD system and UW’s Voyager system do not share circulation or patron information, so provisions must be made to work around the respective systems. Outside of local residents or those that routinely visit Laramie, the best way to borrow from UW is through Interlibrary Loan.

    University of Wyoming Libraries are open to all Wyoming residents. A UW library card may be obtained by presenting a Wyoming drivers license and supplying the necessary registration information. Free library cards are also issued to alumni, Wyoming corporations, Wyoming minors (with parental permission slip), participants in on-campus workshops, and reciprocal borrowing agreement patrons. There is a charge of $10 per year for non-Wyoming residents, non-Wyoming minors, and non-Wyoming corporations.

This policy was updated and approved by the Governing Board on January 26th, 2010.